Dear Time Warner Cable, Yesterday’s 20 Minute Outage Was Awkward

Time Warner Cable Arena

Image via Wikipedia

Dear TWC,

Well, here’s what happened… I was doing one of my many weekly conference calls with folks at … Time Warner Cable. And lucky for me, I wasn’t using Digital Phone, but rather wireless (Sprint). Lucky, because my cable service went out during that call. No email, so I couldn’t read what the QA guy had sent us. No IM, so the TWC project manager and I couldn’t have our back-channel chat alongside the official call, and if I had been using Digital Phone, I would have been dropped from the call altogether.

Now, the last time I had an outage, I used my cell phone to tell @TWCABLEHELP on Twitter about it, they confirmed it wasn’t just me, and ultimately got my service restored, but seriously, couldn’t TWC have texted me a notice that a planned outage was about to start, so I wouldn’t be left wondering if it was you, or me, that caused it? I bet I could even get that set up for you (http://www.linkedin.com/in/deanwaye).

Or, maybe have a Foursquare account called Service Outage, so if my cable went out I could check to see if that truck/guy/crew was in my neighborhood?

Or, maybe use that new Facebook Places to do the same thing?

There are so many ways to communicate with customers today, or at least to let them check status. Let’s think about it, okay?