Dear United Airlines, I Can’t Even Look at You Right Now

Dear United,

I checked my carry-on bag plane-side, and you managed to lose its tag while it was inside the plane. That’s a new one for me.

So we landed and you gave the other carry on bags to the other passengers but you wouldn’t let me leave with my bag.

Of course I had my claim check. And of course it was useless because you managed to lose the tag on the bag itself, while it was inside the plane on a 1 hour flight. So you told me to go to baggage claim, get my bag there, come back through Security all over again at this intermediate airport (Dulles) and try to make a tight connection.

And of course you then managed to lose my bag during its 5 minute trip between the plane and the baggage area. And it doesn’t have a tag (remember, you lost that inside the plane?). Let’s be honest here. That bag is gone forever.

And, naturally I missed my connecting flight. So I have to wait 5 hours for another one.

Here’s a tip, United.

I appreciated that everyone was polite and somewhat helpful, within the very limited orbit you allow them to be. But mine was the only plane-side bag ‘unclaimed’ and I was the only passenger claiming it. I had a claim ticket. And you messed me up instead of being sensible.

Now I understand the ‘United Breaks Guitars‘ guy.

Oh, and my flight tracker app  just alerted me that my intended flight has landed in Raleigh while I sit here in Washington.

Nice.

I can’t even look at you right now.